Of the 28 nominees, about 20 are politicians while eight are established professionals in the field of business, health and law. At least 16 of the nominees were members of Tinubu’s campaign council 

Notable on the list are four former governors who played key roles in Tinubu’s victory.

They are: Former Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State; ex-Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State who currently serves as the deputy majority leader of the Senate; former Governor Mohammed Badaru of Jigawa State and controversial opposition Governor, Nyesom Wike.  

All the ex-governors were part of Tinubu’s campaign council except Wike who worked for the President against his party behind the scenes. 

Other notable politicians on the list include: Senator Abubakar Kyari who is the current acting chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and Senator John Enoh who was the party’s governorship

There’s more to this story

Get unlimited access to our exclusive journalism and features today. Our award-winning team of correspondents and editors report from over 54 African countries, from Cape Town to Cairo, from Abidjan to Abuja to Addis Ababa. Africa. Unlocked.

Subscribe Now

cancel anytime